Lagerland Apps

Movement-based · Apple Watch · On-device

Looking for a
StepBloc alternative?

StepBloc unlocks distracting apps when you finish a set of push-ups, squats, or steps. EarnLock shares the idea and measures it differently: it reads your day's steps, active minutes, or active calories from Apple Health against one daily goal. Halfway there, your apps open for an hour; at the full goal they stay open until midnight. EarnLock also starts with a Shadow Week that only counts, and Premium adds an Apple Watch app.

How does EarnLock compare to StepBloc?

StepBloc details come from its US App Store listing. Both apps make you move to unlock; the table shows how they count it and what else comes with each.

Feature EarnLock StepBloc
How blocked apps unlock A daily activity goal from Apple Health. Halfway opens an hour; the full goal opens them until midnight Push-ups, squats, or steps earn timed access; reps are counted in the app
What a locked app shows EarnLock's screen with what's left, such as "2,026 steps until unlock", and an Earn it button Not described in the public listing
A trial week before blocking Shadow Week: seven days that block nothing and count how often you would have been blocked Not listed
Free tier One app or category, locked with a step goal, for good A free baseline tier
Paid plans $1.99/month or $9.99/year (each with a 7-day free trial), or $19.99 once $3.99/month or $24.99 lifetime
Apple Watch app Yes, with Premium: the watch reads its own Health data and has complications. The iPhone does the locking No Apple Watch app listed
Account No account Not stated on the listing
App Privacy label See EarnLock's App Store listing; the app has no third-party SDKs and makes no network connections of its own Data Not Linked to You: Health, Fitness, Usage Data, Diagnostics
Languages 39 locales, including Arabic and Hebrew 3: Japanese, Simplified Chinese, Spanish (plus English)
Platforms iPhone (iOS 17 or later), plus the Apple Watch app with Premium iOS 16 or later, iPadOS, macOS 13 or later on Apple silicon, visionOS
Family Sharing Yes, on Monthly, Yearly, and Lifetime Not stated on the listing

Checked 2026-05-23 against StepBloc's public App Store listing. Mechanism descriptions follow each app's own published documentation; check again before switching.

When should I pick StepBloc instead?

Pick StepBloc if any of these matter more to you than an all-day activity goal and the Apple Watch app:

EarnLock is for the person who wants the unlock to come from the day's movement, spread across walks, errands, and workouts, with Apple Health keeping score and a slow day still earning an hour at halfway.

About EarnLock

Questions

FAQ

What is the best alternative to StepBloc?
If you want your whole day of movement to count, EarnLock is a StepBloc alternative built on Apple Health. It locks the apps you pick until you reach a daily goal in steps (free) or active minutes or active calories (Premium). Halfway opens them for an hour, and the full goal opens them until midnight. EarnLock starts with a Shadow Week that blocks nothing, and Premium adds an Apple Watch app. Locking one app is free for good.
How is EarnLock different from StepBloc?
StepBloc counts sets of push-ups, squats, or steps in the app and turns them into timed access. EarnLock reads your activity from Apple Health as you move through the day and measures it against one daily goal, with an hour at halfway and everything open until midnight at 100%. A locked app shows what's left, such as "2,026 steps until unlock". EarnLock is an iPhone app with an Apple Watch app in Premium; StepBloc lists iPad, Mac, and Vision Pro as well.
How much does EarnLock cost compared with StepBloc?
Locking one app or category with a step goal is free for good, with partial and full unlocks, Shadow Week, streaks with a weekly rest day, the Insights Day view, every widget, and the emergency unlock. Premium adds unlimited apps, active minutes and active calories, the Apple Watch app, a Live Activity, Smart Schedules, and Week and Month insights for $1.99/month or $9.99/year, each with a 7-day free trial, or $19.99 once. All three support Family Sharing. StepBloc's listing showed $3.99 a month or $24.99 for lifetime when this page was checked. Check both listings for current prices in your country.
Why does EarnLock use a daily goal instead of push-ups and squats?
EarnLock's premise is that the unlock should cost something that also does you good across the day. A daily goal counts the walking, errands, and workouts you already do, measured by Apple Health, and halfway still earns an hour on a slow day. Reps suit people who like short, intense bursts, and StepBloc is built for that.
Does StepBloc have an Apple Watch app?
StepBloc's App Store listing shows no Apple Watch app. With Premium, EarnLock's Apple Watch app reads its own Health data and shows your ring, your count, and how far you are from unlocking, with a Reflect button and circular, corner, inline, and rectangular complications. The iPhone is still the device that locks and unlocks your apps, and it passes your Premium status to the watch.
Which is more private, EarnLock or StepBloc?
StepBloc's App Privacy label lists Health, Fitness, Usage Data, and Diagnostics as collected but not linked to you. EarnLock has no account, makes no network connections of its own, and includes no third-party SDKs. Apple Health is read on your iPhone and never written to or sent anywhere.

Start here

Try EarnLock.

Your day's movement opens your apps, and halfway earns an hour. Locking one app is free, with no account.

Last updated